Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Red Deer Polytechnic

Book SpaceBook Space Book AppointmentBook Appointment Library AccountLibrary Account Library HoursLibrary Hours Ask Us!Ask Us!

Banner Image

 

Chicago Citation Style 17th Edition

This guide will help you cite sources in Chicago Citation Style 17th Edition.

 

Updates on Library Services and Resources during COVID-19.

Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide

Journal Article from a Database

Numbers in parentheses refer to specific pages in The Chicago Manual (17th ed.) 

General Format

Full Note

1. Author First Name Surname, "Article Title," Journal Title Volume, no. Issue (Year): page #, DOI OR URL of journal article web page OR Name of database.

Shortened Note

2. Author Surname, "Article Title," page #.

Bibliography

Author Surname, First Name. "Article Title." Journal Title Volume, no. Issue (Year): Page range of article. DOI OR URL of journal article web page OR Name of database.

Example

Full Note

1. Valerie Bunce, "Rethinking Recent Democritization: Lessons from the Postcommunist Experience," World Politics 55, no. 2 (2003): 168, http://www.jstor.org/stable/25054217.

Shortened Note

2. Bunce, "Rethinking Recent Democritization," 168.

Bibliography

Bunce, Valerie. "Rethinking Recent Democritization: Lessons from the Postcommunist Experience." World Politics 55, no. 2 (2003): 167-192. http://www.jstor.org/stable/25054217.

Tips

See The Chicago Manual (pp. 833) for more information on citing a journal article from a database.

See The Chicago Manual (pp. 829-37) for more information and examples on citing journal articles.

If you viewed a journal article in its print format, your note would end after the page number, and your Bibliography entry would end after you provide the page range of the article.

Magazine Article

Numbers in parentheses refer to specific pages in The Chicago Manual (17th ed.) 

General Format

Full Note

1. Author First Name Surname, "Article Title," Magazine Title, Month Day, Year, URL.

Shortened Note

2. Author Surname, "Article Title," paragraph #.

Bibliography

Author Surname, First Name. "Article Title." Magazine Title, Month Day, Year. URL.

Example

Full Note

1. Jason G. Goldman, "Lizards Learn a Silly Walk after Losing Their Tail," Scientific American, December 1, 2017, https://www.scientificamerican.com/article/lizards-learn-a-silly-walk-after-losing-their-tail/. 

Shortened Note

2. Goldman, "Lizards Learn a Silly Walk after Losing Their Tail," para. 3.

Bibliography

Goldman, Jason G. "Lizards Learn a Silly Walk after Losing Their Tail." Scientific American, December 1, 2017. https://www.scientificamerican.com/article/lizards-learn-a-silly-walk-after-losing-their-tail/.

Tips

See The Chicago Manual (pp. 837-38) for more information on citing magazine articles.

If you view a magazine article online, include the URL of the article's web page in your reference (p. 838).

Newspaper Article

Numbers in parentheses refer to specific pages in The Chicago Manual (17th ed.) 

General Format

Full Note

1. Author First Name/Initial Surname, "Article Title," Newspaper Title, Month Day, Year.

Shortened Note

2. Author Surname, "Article Title."

Bibliography

Author Surname, First Name. "Article Title." Newspaper Title, Month Day, Year.

Example

Full Note

1.  Laurie Goodstein and William Glaberson, "The Well-Marked Roads to Homicidal Rage," New York Times, April 10, 2000, national edition, sec. 1.

Shortened Note

2. Goodstein and Glaberson, "The Well-Marked Roads."

Bibliography

Goodstein, Laurie, and William Glaberson. "The Well-Marked Roads to Homicidal Rage." New York Times, April 10, 2000, national edition, sec. 1.

Tips

See The Chicago Manual (pp. 838-42) for more information on citing newspaper articles.

If you view a newspaper article online, include the URL of the article's web page in your reference (p. 839).