Subject Guides are "research starters" tailored to each subject area/discipline, that provide access to key library resources (e.g., subscription databases) as well as recommended print materials and websites.
Feel free to link directly to Subject Guides on handouts, course packs, and Blackboard sites. The link to each subject guide can be copied right from the browser, e.g., https://guides.rdpolytech.ca/biology.
Links to Library e-resources (permalinks and embed code) have changed. All links to Library resources will need to be updated within your courses to ensure continued off-campus access. Even if the old link appears to work on campus, it will no longer work off-campus.
Off-campus access to e-resources has changed. Use your RDP email and password to access RDP Library e-resources off-campus. Learn more.
Links to Library Guides (subject guides and citation guides) and Tutorials are not impacted and will not need to be changed. For example:
You will need to:
All Library e-resource links and embedded videos included in RDP courses will need to be updated.
Steps for Updating Links:
1. Identify the Library e-resources in your course (Blackboard, Course Outline, etc.). This includes links to ebooks, journal articles, and streaming video. Note that links to Library Guides, Citation Guides, and Library Tutorials do NOT need to be updated.
2. Build your new URL using the instructions for each resource type:
3. Update your Blackboard course with the new URL(s). Your updated links should include the new proxy prepend:
Steps for Updating Embedded Videos:
If you have embedded Library streaming video, they will need to be re-embedded with the updated embed code. Find the updated embed code for Films on Demand, National Film Board (NFB), or Kanopy using the instructions for Streaming Video.
Include a full citation for any e-resources included in your Blackboard course:
If you have questions about linking eResources, or experience difficulty getting the linking to work properly, please Ask Us!
(Education Database, CBCA Complete, Canadian Newstream, Calgary Herald)
Within any Content Area, Learning Module, or Folder select Build Content > Web Link.
Step 2: Add Description
Step 3: Ignore Attachments
Click Submit to add your link.
Switch to Student View and test your link.
The Library has created tutorials for APA, MLA, and Chicago. These tutorials can:
The citation tutorials are available in an online format via the links below. Previous Blackboard tutorial modules are no longer supported.
Unless otherwise noted, these tutorials are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
The library has created an Introduction to Academic Integrity guide to introduce students to the concepts of academic integrity, academic misconduct, plagiarism, and citation. Please contact your Subject Librarian if you would like to use this tutorial in conjunction with a Blackboard quiz.
Red Deer Polytechnic has the following policy and guidebook regarding academic integrity:
As per Red Deer Polytechnic's Copyright Materials Acceptable Use Policy, all course resources should be copyright compliant or used under the fair dealing exemption of the Copyright Act. Our Copyright Guide can assist you with:
Open Educational Resources (OERs) are teaching, learning, and research resources released under an open license that permits their free use and repurposing by others. OERs can be textbooks, full courses, lesson plans, videos, tests, software, or any other tool, material, or technique that supports access to knowledge. —SPARC Open Education Fact Sheet (pdf)
Visit our OER Guide to:
For many students, textbook costs can be a barrier. In order to provide another means of access, the Library has partnered with the Campus Store to build a Textbook Collection using Library funds.
This project started in Fall 2018, and we have acquired a number of textbooks for our Reserves collection. Since we don't have the funds to purchase all the required textbooks, we have focused on acquiring titles (around $100 or more) that support introductory/first year courses, classes with multiple sections, and other high impact textbooks. The majority of these texts are available to checkout from the Reserves collection at the Library Desk for two hours at a time. Note that textbooks that include a single-user online access component will only be available without that access.
Students can search the catalogue for a particular textbook or come and browse the collection.
Select textbooks are available for the following classes:
This list does not include additional textbooks that instructors have added to the Reserve collection for different courses. The Library also has a fairly comprehensive collection of nursing textbooks on Reserve.
This Collection Development Guiding Document helps ensure that the Library's collection remains relevant to the changing needs of students and faculty, in accordance with the Library's mission and the guiding principles of the College.
Send suggestions for additions to our collection to your Subject Librarian.
Red Deer Polytechnic recognizes that our campus is situated on Treaty 7 land, the traditional territory of the Blackfoot, Tsuu T’ina and Stoney Nakoda peoples, and that the central Alberta region we serve falls under Treaty 6, traditional Métis, Cree and Saulteaux territory. We honour the First Peoples who have lived here since time immemorial, and we give thanks for the land where RDP sits. This is where we will strive to honour and transform our relationships with one another.