- HoursHours
- EventsEvents
- Study RoomsStudy Rooms
- Library AccountLibrary Account
- AppointmentsAppointments
- Ask Us!Ask Us!
Library
Copyright-friendly works typically fall under one of the following categories, which determine the extent to which they may be used, reused or modified.
Public Domain: Includes works that are no longer under copyright, so no permission is required. Learn more about the public domain.
Not sure if a work is in the public domain? See the Canadian Copyright Term and Public Domain Flowchart.
Creative Commons: Flexible copyright licenses that allow copyright holders to decide for themselves who can share, reuse and build upon their creative works. There are six creative commons licenses:
These licenses are comprised of a combination of four features:
BY = Attribution
You may distribute, remix, tweak, and build upon your work but must credit the author
NC = Non-Commercial
You may only use the work for non-commercial purposes
SA = Share-Alike
You must license your revised or remixed work under the identical terms
ND = No Derivatives
You are free to use and distribute the work but may not revise or remix it
Read more about Creative Commons Licenses.
These collections provide copyright-friendly images you can use freely as long as you abide by any terms of use provided by the owner of the content.
This link opens in a new windowDigital images of art, architecture, and design from books, museums, archives, and slide collections. For non-commercial educational or scholarly use only. Registration required to download images.
Copyright: When an original literary, dramatic, musical, or artistic work is created, copyright automatically applies. Learn more about using copyrighted materials at RDC on our Copyright Guide.
Copyright-friendly works typically fall under one of the following categories, which determine the extent to which they may be used, reused or modified.
Public Domain Includes works that are no longer under copyright, so no permission is required.
Creative Commons: Flexible copyright licenses that allow copyright holders to decide for themselves who can share, reuse and build upon their creative works. There are six creative commons licenses:
These licenses are comprised of a combination of four features:
BY = Attribution
You may distribute, remix, tweak, and build upon your work but must credit the author
NC = Non-Commercial
You may only use the work for non-commercial purposes
SA = Share-Alike
You must license your revised or remixed work under the identical terms
ND = No Derivatives
You are free to use and distribute the work but may not revise or remix it
Read more about Creative Commons Licenses.
These websites provide copyright-friendly music you can use freely as long as you abide by any terms of use provided by the owner of the content.
Copyright: When an original literary, dramatic, musical, or artistic work is created, copyright automatically applies. Learn more about using copyrighted materials at RDC on our Copyright Guide.
Copyright-friendly works typically fall under one of the following categories, which determine the extent to whish they may be used, reused or modified.
Public Domain: Includes works that are no longer under copyright, so no permission is required.
Creative Commons: Flexible copyright licenses that allow copyright holders to decide for themselves who can share, reuse and build upon their creative works. There are six creative commons licenses:
These licenses are comprised of a combination of four features:
BY = Attribution
You may distribute, remix, tweak, and build upon your work but must credit the author
NC = Non-Commercial
You may only use the work for non-commercial purposes
SA = Share-Alike
You must license your revised or remixed work under the identical terms
ND = No Derivatives
You are free to use and distribute the work but may not revise or remix it
Read more about Creative Commons Licenses.
These websites provide copyright-friendly videos you can use freely as long as you abide by any terms of use provided by the owner of the content.
Copyright: When an original literary, dramatic, musical, or artistic work is created, copyright automatically applies. Learn more about using copyrighted materials at RDC on our Copyright Guide.
Copyright-friendly works typically fall under one of the following categories, which determine the extent to whish they may be used, reused or modified.
Public Domain: Includes works that are no longer under copyright, so no permission is required.
Creative Commons: Flexible copyright licenses that allow copyright holders to decide for themselves who can share, reuse and build upon their creative works. There are six creative commons licenses:
These licenses are comprised of a combination of four features:
BY = Attribution
You may distribute, remix, tweak, and build upon your work but must credit the author
NC = Non-Commercial
You may only use the work for non-commercial purposes
SA = Share-Alike
You must license your revised or remixed work under the identical terms
ND = No Derivatives
You are free to use and distribute the work but may not revise or remix it
Read more about Creative Commons Licenses.
These collections provide copyright-friendly images you can use freely as long as you abide by any terms of use provided by the owner of the content.
Copyright: When an original literary, dramatic, musical, or artistic work is created, copyright automatically applies. Learn more about using copyrighted materials at RDC on our Copyright Guide.
Copyright-friendly works typically fall under one of the following categories, which determine the extent to which they may be used, reused or modified.
Public Domain Includes works that are no longer under copyright, so no permission is required.
Creative Commons: Flexible copyright licenses that allow copyright holders to decide for themselves who can share, reuse and build upon their creative works. There are six creative commons licenses:
These licenses are comprised of a combination of four features:
BY = Attribution
You may distribute, remix, tweak, and build upon your work but must credit the author
NC = Non-Commercial
You may only use the work for non-commercial purposes
SA = Share-Alike
You must license your revised or remixed work under the identical terms
ND = No Derivatives
You are free to use and distribute the work but may not revise or remix it
Read more about Creative Commons Licenses.
Be sure to cite and/or attribute all works used.
Open Educational Resources (OER) are a copyright-friendly option for your courses!
These are resources for which the creator has assigned an open license indicating how that work can be used. The Library can help you integrate OER into your course.
To learn more and to find OER, visit our OER Guide.
