Skip to Main Content

Library

 

Copyright

Information for faculty & students about using copyrighted materials at Red Deer Polytechnic.

Use Legally Obtained Works

All images, videos, and text resources used need to be legally obtained: 

  • Use versions of works posted/uploaded/presented by the creator or copyright holder. See examples of legally obtained works.
  • Look for identifiers (e.g., watermarks, copyright information) to help determine whether the work was meant to be uploaded on the site you found it.
  • Use a reverse image search to find the source/creator of an image (e.g., TinEye, Google Search by Image).

Images for Visual Interest

Images such as photographs, clipart, etc., are often used solely for visual interest (i.e. they do not convey information).

Guidelines

  • Image must be legally obtained
  • Image must include an attribution to credit the image source; this can be placed below the image
  • A complete citation is not included in your References or Bibliography
  • Use the suggested attribution format provided by the creator or image collection (such as Pixabay, Pexels, and Unsplash). If no format is suggested, include at minimum the following with a link to the image: Image Title. Image Creator. Image Collection.
  • Where possible, hyperlink the Image Collection to the image online

Examples

Images for Visual Interest
In your assignment, presentation, poster, or course content In your reference list or bibliography

image of brown wicker baskets

Brown Wicker Baskets. Markus Winkler. Pexels.

OR

"Brown Wicker Baskets” by Markus Winkler, Pexels.
Note: Attribution created using Open Attribution Builder.

N/A

Note: Images used only for visual interest do not need to be included in your References or Bibliography.
Images for Visual Interest (from Adobe Stock Images with RDP Educational License)
In your assignment, presentation, poster, or course content In your reference list or bibliography

Human vector icon illustration isolated. Shirt, face and flat. 
Vectorvstocker. Adobe Stock. (Education License).

N/A

Note: Images used only for visual interest do not need to be included in your References or Bibliography.

Learn More

Images for Information

Images such as charts, diagrams, photographs, etc., can be used to convey information.

Guidelines

  • Image must be legally obtained
  • Image must include an in-text citation and a reference
  • Include an in-text citation below the image in preferred citation style (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.)
  • Include an image title preceding the in-text citation (optional, to help provide context)
  • Include a complete citation in References or Bibliography

Example

Image for Information
In your assignment, presentation, poster, or course content In your reference list or bibliography

image of the weft and the warp in weaving

The Weft and the Warp (Anila et al., 2018). 

OR

The Weft and the Warp. Anila, Rani, & Saranya. JTEC.

Anila, S., Rani, K. S. S., & Saranya, B. (2018). Fabric texture analysis and weave pattern recognition by intelligent processing. Journal of Telecommunication, Electronic and Computer Engineering, 10(1-13), 121–127.  https://jtec.utem.edu.my/jtec/article/view/4136

*Note: Example cited in APA 7th style; use your discipline's preferred citation style.

Learn More

Videos from the Internet (YouTube, etc.)

Videos from all sources, including YouTube, must include both an in-text citation and a corresponding reference.

Copyright Guidelines

  • Videos must be legally obtained
  • Only embed YouTube videos for which you are reasonably sure have been uploaded by the copyright holder (where possible, use the YouTube embed code to add the video)

Citation Guidelines

  • Include an in-text citation below the embedded video
  • Include a hyperlinked video title preceding the in-text citation (optional, to help provide context)
  • Include full citation in your References or Bibliography

Example

Videos from the Internet (YouTube, etc.)
In your assignment, presentation, poster, or course content In your reference list or bibliography


Cedar Basket Weaving with Brenda Crabtree (Emily Carr University, 2015)

Emily Carr University. (2015, Aug. 18). Cedar basket weaving with Brenda Crabtree - Urban access project [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/_6XAO0xfGHM

Learn More

Videos from RDP Library Database

Videos from all sources, including streaming videos from Library databases, must include an in-text citation.

Copyright Guidelines

  • Videos need to be legally obtained
  • Where available, use the embed code to add the video

Citation Guidelines

  • Include an in-text citation below the video
  • Include a permalinked video title preceding the in-text citation (optional, but recommended)
  • Include full citation in References

Example

Video from RDP Library Database
In your assignment, presentation, poster, or course content In your reference list or bibliography

Basket (Obomsawin, 2009)

 

Obomsawin, A. (2009). Basket. National Film Board of Canada [Film]. https://rdpolytech.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.nfb.ca/film/basket/

Learn More

Textual Information from Library Databases

Textual information from Library Databases, such as from articles and ebooks, requires an in-text citation and a reference.

Copyright Guidelines

  • Articles and ebooks found through Library databases can be included in course materials.
  • Use the database permalink to link to the article or chapter title (the permalink ensures off-campus access).
  • Due to database licensing restrictions, it is generally NOT permissible to upload PDF articles or chapters into your course.

Citation Guidelines

  • Include an in-text citation following any quotes, paraphrasing, or if you mention the title of your source.
    NOTE: While in-text citations are typically used solely for information that has been cited or paraphrased, we recommend including an in-text citation after the titles of sources referred to, as it directs students to the full citation in the References. 
  • Include the complete citation in References using the citation style of your discipline.
    NOTE: Do not include the long form URL in your course content (https://rdpolytech.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/43186721); this will be included in References.

Example

[title]
In your assignment, presentation, poster, or course content In your reference list or bibliography

From Library Database
New Designs with 3D Printing in Basket Knitting Technique (Özcan & Akpinarli, 2021)

Not Your Grandma's Knitting: The Role of Identity Processes in the Transformation of Cultural Practices (Fields, 2014)
Note: Link title to article permalink.

Özcan, N. & Akpinarli, H. F. (2021). New designs with 3D printing in basket knitting technique. Journal of World of Turks / Zeitschrift Für Die Welt Der Türken, 13(3), 283-309. https://doi.org/10.46291/ZfWT/130317

Fields, C. D. (2014). Not your grandma’s knitting: The role of identity processes in the transformation of cultural practices. Social Psychology Quarterly, 77(2), 150-165. https://doi.org/10.1177/0190272514523624 
From Library ebook Book Chapter
Read Chapter 1, An Introduction to Textile Technology (Spencer, 2001) and identify…
Note: Link title to ebook permalink.		 Spencer, D. J. (2001). Knitting technology: A comprehensive handbook and practical guide. Elsevier Science & Technology. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/rdc/detail.action?docID=1640151 

Learn More

FAQ: What is a permalink and why should I use one?
Faculty Guide: Link e-Resources in Blackboard (includes examples for articles and ebooks)

Textual Information from the Internet

Explanation

  • Textual information from the Internet (websites, online publications, etc.) requires an in-text citation and reference.

Copyright Guidelines

  • Textual information must be legally obtained.
  • Hyperlink the website or webpage title.

Citation Guidelines

  • Include an in-text citation following any quotes, paraphrasing, or if you mention the title of your source.
    NOTE: While in-text citations are typically used solely for information that has been cited or paraphrased, we recommend including an in-text citation after the titles of sources referred to, as it directs students to the full citation in the References. 
  • Include the complete citation in References using the citation style of your discipline.
    NOTE: Do not include the long form URL in your course content (e.g., https://mymodernmet.com/basket-weaving), this will be included in References. 

Example

Online Textual Sources
In your assignment, presentation, poster, or course content In your reference list or bibliography
From Website
Learn About the Ancient Art of Basket Weaving and How You Can Make Your Own (Muzdakis, 2020)		 Muzdakis, M. (2020, Nov. 1). Learn about the ancient art of basket weaving and how you can make your own. My Modern Met. https://mymodernmet.com/basket-weaving/

Learn More