Support for your Project or Assignment
To support student success, RDP Library provides:
Computer Software
View a list of our Computer Software.
Equipment
View information about our Equipment (cameras and accessories, chargers, electronics, etc.).
Find Copyright-Friendly Images, Videos, & Music
These collections provide copyright-friendly images you can use freely as long as you abide by any terms of use provided by the owner of the content.
- PexelsAn inclusive library of stock photos & videos that can be downloaded and used for free.
- PixabayCopyright-free images and videos, usable under Creative Commons CC0 (no need to ask permission or give credit).
- UnsplashCopyright-free images for commercial and noncommercial uses. No need to ask permission or give credit.
- The Noun ProjectA collections of icons and symbols usable under a Creative Commons license.
- TinEye Reverse Image SearchFind out how and where an image is used online using this search engine. Useful for determining need for attribution.
- Creative Commons SearchCreative Commons Search "will help you find photos, music, text, books, educational material, and more that is free to share or build upon."
- Google Advanced Image SearchSearch by colour! Can filter by 'usage rights" but verify copyright before using images.
- Artstor This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This cross-disciplinary collection of rights-cleared images includes digital images of art, architecture, and design from books, museums, archives, and slide collections.
Copyright: When an original literary, dramatic, musical, or artistic work is created, copyright automatically applies. Learn more about using copyrighted materials at RDC on our Copyright Guide.
Copyright-friendly works typically fall under one of the following categories, which determine the extent to which they may be used, reused or modified.
Public Domain Includes works that are no longer under copyright, so no permission is required.
Creative Commons: Flexible copyright licenses that allow copyright holders to decide for themselves who can share, reuse and build upon their creative works. There are six creative commons licenses:
These licenses are comprised of a combination of four features:
BY = Attribution
You may distribute, remix, tweak, and build upon your work but must credit the author
NC = Non-Commercial
You may only use the work for non-commercial purposes
SA = Share-Alike
You must license your revised or remixed work under the identical terms
ND = No Derivatives
You are free to use and distribute the work but may not revise or remix it
Read more about Creative Commons Licenses.
These websites provide copyright-friendly music you can use freely as long as you abide by any terms of use provided by the owner of the content.
- Legal Music for Remixing and SamplingInformation about remixing and sampling music for your projects, including list of sites with creative commons music samples.
- Legal Music for VideosIncludes sites that offer music published under Creative Commons’ flexible copyright licenses.
- Free Music Archive"Free access to open licensed, original music by independent artists around the world."
- Pixabay MusicRoyalty-free music for videos, background music, films, podcasts, etc.
- ccMixterA community music site featuring remixes licensed under Creative Commons.
- JamendoAll music on Jamendo is free to download and can be shared or modified depending on how each specific piece of music has been licensed.
- BensoundDownload royalty free stock music for YouTube and your multimedia projects.
- IMSLP/Petrucci Music LibraryA virtual library of public domain music scores in wiki format. Download scores; upload your own.
- Creative Commons SearchCreative Commons Search "will help you find photos, music, text, books, educational material, and more that is free to share or build upon."
- Google Advanced SearchSet “usage rights” parameters to be “Free to use, share, or modify."
Copyright: When an original literary, dramatic, musical, or artistic work is created, copyright automatically applies. Learn more about using copyrighted materials at RDC on our Copyright Guide.
Copyright-friendly works typically fall under one of the following categories, which determine the extent to whish they may be used, reused or modified.
Public Domain: Includes works that are no longer under copyright, so no permission is required.
Creative Commons: Flexible copyright licenses that allow copyright holders to decide for themselves who can share, reuse and build upon their creative works. There are six creative commons licenses:
These licenses are comprised of a combination of four features:
BY = Attribution
You may distribute, remix, tweak, and build upon your work but must credit the author
NC = Non-Commercial
You may only use the work for non-commercial purposes
SA = Share-Alike
You must license your revised or remixed work under the identical terms
ND = No Derivatives
You are free to use and distribute the work but may not revise or remix it
Read more about Creative Commons Licenses.
These websites provide copyright-friendly videos you can use freely as long as you abide by any terms of use provided by the owner of the content.
- Pixabay VideosVideos which can be freely used and adapted, subject to the licensing terms.
- PexelsAn inclusive library of stock photos & videos that can be downloaded and used for free.
- Internet Archive Stock Footage"A collection of stock footage clips submitted by Internet Archive users. These clips are designed to be used in other videos."
- YouTubeType your search term, followed by a comma and then “creativecommons” for videos that are CC licensed,
- Creative Commons on VimeoBrowse the Creative Commons licensed videos on Vimeo.
- Creative Commons SearchCreative Commons Search "will help you find photos, music, text, books, educational material, and more that is free to share or build upon."
- Google Advanced SearchSet “usage rights” parameters to be “Free to use, share, or modify."
Copyright: When an original literary, dramatic, musical, or artistic work is created, copyright automatically applies. Learn more about using copyrighted materials at RDC on our Copyright Guide.
Copyright-friendly works typically fall under one of the following categories, which determine the extent to whish they may be used, reused or modified.
Public Domain: Includes works that are no longer under copyright, so no permission is required.
Creative Commons: Flexible copyright licenses that allow copyright holders to decide for themselves who can share, reuse and build upon their creative works. There are six creative commons licenses:
These licenses are comprised of a combination of four features:
BY = Attribution
You may distribute, remix, tweak, and build upon your work but must credit the author
NC = Non-Commercial
You may only use the work for non-commercial purposes
SA = Share-Alike
You must license your revised or remixed work under the identical terms
ND = No Derivatives
You are free to use and distribute the work but may not revise or remix it
Read more about Creative Commons Licenses.
These collections provide copyright-friendly images you can use freely as long as you abide by any terms of use provided by the owner of the content.
- UndrawOpen-source illustrations, including a variety of figures and characters. Images are free to use without asking permission or giving credit.
- Open PeepsA hand-drawn illustration library. Images are free to use without asking permission or giving credit.
- HumaaansMix-&-match illustrations of people with a design library. Images are free to use without asking for permission or giving credit.
Copyright: When an original literary, dramatic, musical, or artistic work is created, copyright automatically applies. Learn more about using copyrighted materials at RDC on our Copyright Guide.
Copyright-friendly works typically fall under one of the following categories, which determine the extent to which they may be used, reused or modified.
Public Domain Includes works that are no longer under copyright, so no permission is required.
Creative Commons: Flexible copyright licenses that allow copyright holders to decide for themselves who can share, reuse and build upon their creative works. There are six creative commons licenses:
These licenses are comprised of a combination of four features:
BY = Attribution
You may distribute, remix, tweak, and build upon your work but must credit the author
NC = Non-Commercial
You may only use the work for non-commercial purposes
SA = Share-Alike
You must license your revised or remixed work under the identical terms
ND = No Derivatives
You are free to use and distribute the work but may not revise or remix it
Read more about Creative Commons Licenses.
Create a Presentation
Presentations are a common way of communicating information. You may be required to create a presentation for an assignment, or you might need to give a presentation at a job interview, conference, or event.
- Oral Presentation and PowerPointPresentation tips from Pennsylvania State University.
- Microsoft PowerPoint 2016Campus computers are loaded with PowerPoint 2016 software.
- Open Office Productivity Suite (Mac, Windows, Linux)A productivity suite that provides the functionality of Microsoft Office, for free.
- Google SlidesCreate, edit, collaborate, and present wherever you are using free, cloud-based Google Slides.
- SlideShareShare your presentation, infographic, or document. Keep in mind privacy implications when sharing sensitive information.
- Open Attribution BuilderUse this online tool to help you build attributions to cite openly distributed material.
Create an Academic Poster
An academic or research poster is an "illustrated abstract" or a brief dissemination of your research. You may be asked to create a poster for a course assignment, for a conference, or for a another purpose.
Read your assignment or submission requirements carefully for considerations such as specific poster size.
- Academic or Research Poster ChecklistRDP checklist of design, content, and delivery considerations.
- Print Your Academic Poster the the RDP Print CentreGuidance from the RDP Print Centre for setting up and printing your poster at the Print Centre (including size and cost).
- Ten Simple Rules for a Good Poster PresentationDesign tips to creating a poster presentation.
- Designing Conference PostersColin Purrington, Graphic Designer and Photographer
- Digital PosterTypes of digital posters and design tips.
Better Posters (ebook) by ISBN: 9781784272364Publication Date: 2021-05-24Everything you need to know about creating an impactful poster - from writing a title and submitting an abstract, to designing the poster and finally presenting it in the poster session.
Posters can be designed using a variety of software and apps. The most common software used include Microsoft PowerPoint and Microsoft Publisher, both of which are available through RDP. Note that word processing software like Microsoft Word is not suitable for creating posters.
- Microsoft PowerPointCampus computers are loaded with PowerPoint 2016 software.
- Microsoft PublisherCampus computers are loaded with Publisher 2016 software.
- Using Google Slides to Design a PosterStep-by-step instructions to design a poster using Google Slides, which is similar to PowerPoint with some features of Publisher.
- Canva Research Poster TemplatesCanva is an online tool that can be used to make posters (free account option).
- Example of a Terrible Conference PosterIncludes reasons why this is not an effective academic poster.
Cite Your Images
Images such as photographs, clipart, charts, and diagrams must include a citation or attribution to the image source.
Image Used for Visual Interest
- Image is not used as a source of information
- Do not include in References or Bibliography
- Include attribution below image
- Image collections such as Pixabay and Unsplash may suggest attribution format
- If no format is suggested, then include at minimum the following information:
- Title
- Author
- Source (i.e. the URL)
- License type (i.e. Creative Commons)
How this looks in your presentation or poster:
(Plants in beakers. chuttersnap. Unsplash.)
How this looks in your References or Bibliography:
Images used only for visual interest do not need to be included in your References or Bibliography.
Image Used as Information Source
- Include full citation in References or Bibliography using APA, MLA, Chicago or other citation style
- Include attribution below image in this suggested format:
- Title
- Author
- Source (i.e. the URL)
How this looks in your presentation or poster:
(Average gamers by age group. Entertainment Software Association. ESA.com)
How this looks in your References or Bibliography:
Entertainment Software Association. (2017). 2017 sales, demographic, and usage data: Essential facts about the computer and video game industry. https://www.theesa.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/03/ESA_EssentialFacts_2017.pdf
Note: Citation format will vary depending on style used; this example is cited in APA (6th ed.) style.
