RDP Library: Research Common: Addressing Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (EDI) in Research

Why EDI?

Tri-Agency Statement on Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (EDI)
Sets out the commitment of NSERC, SSHRC, and CIHR to achieving a more equitable, diverse and inclusive Canadian research enterprise. This includes the Tri-Agency EDI Action Plan for 2018–2025.
Dimensions Charter
Red Deer Polytechnic is an endorser of the Dimensions Charter, part of an initiative supported by the three federal research granting agencies (NSERC, SSHRC, CIHR) to increase EDI and help drive deeper cultural change within the research ecosystem.
Strengthening Canada's Research Capacity: The Gender Dimension
An assessment of the factors that influence university research careers of women, both in Canada and internationally, undertaken by the Council of Canadian Academies (CCA).
EDI in Higher Education and Research
Information rom the Chaire pour les femmes en sciences et en génie au Québec, Université de Sherbrooke, intended to raise awareness of (EDI) within the university community for greater integration and representation of designated groups in higher education and research.
Guide to Gender Diversity in Employment: Employer's Guide
From the Atlantic Ministers Responsible for the Status of Women. This Guide provides a straightforward framework for identifying and taking action on a gender diversity strategy for the workplace.
Underrepresented and Underpaid: Diversity & Equity Among Canada's Post-Secondary Education Teachers (2018)
This report provides a snapshot of academic staff representation and income in Canada’s universities and colleges in 2016, noting in particular changes in the university sector over the last decade.

The Equity Myth by Frances Henry; Enakshi Dua; Carl E. James; Audrey Kobayashi; Peter Li; Howard Ramos; Malinda S. Smith
Call Number: Floor 2 - LC 212.43 C2 H46 2017
This book, the first comprehensive, data-based study of racialized and Indigenous faculty members' experiences in Canadian universities, challenges the myth of equity in higher education. Drawing on a rich body of survey data, interviews, and analysis of universities' stated policies, leading scholars scrutinize what universities have done and question the effectiveness of their employment equity programs.

Resources

Addressing Equity, Diversity and Inclusion in Your Research Application
This guide from the University of Toronto not only gives specific tips to help meet the equity, diversity and inclusion requirements related to research teams and training of personnel in grant applications, but also gives examples of statements from successful grant applications awarded to the University of Toronto.
EDI in Research
A new resource from the Faculty of Law at the University of Ottawa that draws on several frameworks and programs offered by the Tri-agencies to bring together definitions of equity, diversity and inclusion, propose several questions designed to develop best practices for EDI in research, present elements that may prompt new considerations, and offer in-depth examples of ways to advance EDI while building a research team.
University of Guelph EDI Resource Document for Researchers
The University of Guelph developed this document in recognition of EDI as a critical component in the recruitment and development of any and all research teams and their robust research programs even when not included in the formal evaluation criteria of a grant.

College and Community Innovation (CCI) Program - Guide to Addressing Equity, Diversity and Inclusion in CCI Grant Applications
Must be read by all applicants to CCI grants (e.g., CCSIF). The incorporation of EDI considerations within grant proposals is a new requirement that the Tri-agencies are now introducing to the college sector.
Best Practices in Equity, Diversity and Inclusion in Research (New Frontiers in Research Fund)
Although written as a guide to the EDI review criteria for the New Frontiers in Research Fund (NFRF) competitions, the information is generally applicable to EDI in grant applications.
NSERC Guide for Applicants: Considering Equity, Diversity and Inclusion in Your Application
Provides applicants with resources regarding what equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI) mean in natural sciences and engineering research teams and research design and how incorporation of EDI contributes to research excellence.
Considering EDI in Research
A tool to help address the EDI criteria of the government granting agencies when writing research grant applications. Developed by the Chaire pour les femmes en sciences et en génie au Québec, Université de Sherbrooke.

Fairness and Equity in Research Participation (Tri-Council Policy Statement: Ethical Conduct for Research Involving Humans - Chapter 4 )
This chapter of the TCPS2 (2022) addresses the fair inclusion and equitable treatment of individuals, groups, and communities whose situation or circumstances make them vulnerable in the context of a specific research project. These individuals run the risk of being included in research in ways that may be unfair and inequitable. This chapter provides guidance relevant to the equitable distribution of the risks and benefits of research.
Ethical research: good practice guide to researching LGBT communities and issues (LGBT Foundation)
This document aims to aid researchers in identifying, understanding and resolving ethical issues at all stages of the research process, with added focus on how these issues might apply to work with lesbian, gay, bisexual and trans (LGBT) communities. It draws on the ethical principles set out by the UK Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) Framework for Research Ethics (2015).

Westcoast Women in Engineering, Science, and Technology (WWest) White Papers
WWEST's White Papers are meant as infographics to inform the community, industry, academia, and secondary students and guidance counsellors about various topics in STEM, including how to create a more diverse and empowered STEM workforce, STEM careers, and issues of equity, diversity, and inclusion in STEM.

Research Involving Indigenous Communities

College and Community Innovation (CCI) Program - CCSIF Guide for Research Involving Indigenous Peoples and Communities
Must be read by all applicants to CCI grant (e.g., CCSIF) whose projects involve Indigenous Peoples or communities. This guide was developed specifically for the CCSIF grant but is being used more broadly.
SSHRC Indigenous Research main page
Resources and other information about Indigenous research for applicants to SSHRC.
SSHRC Indigenous Research Statement of Principles
These principles provide recognition that Indigenous research, which includes a wide range of unique theoretical and methodological approaches, supports SSHRC's commitment to scholarly excellence.
SSHRC Guidelines for the Merit Review of Indigenous Research

Research Design

Gender-based Analysis Plus (GBA+)
A guide to what GBA+ is and how to apply GBA+ to your work from Women and Gender Equality Canada (WAGE). WAGE also offers a free GBA+ training course.
NSERC Equity, Diversity and Inclusion considerations at each stage of the research process
This document is designed to assist the research communities served by NSERC with embedding equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI) considerations relevant to each or any stage of the research process: research questions, design of the study, methodology and data collection, analysis and interpretation, dissemination of results.
Stanford University Gendered Innovations Project -- Methods of Sex, Gender, and Intersectional Analysis
This peer-reviewed project from Stanford University develops practical methods of sex, gender, and intersectional analysis for scientists and engineers and provides case studies as concrete illustrations of how sex, gender and intersectional analysis lead to innovation. Grant applicants may find the methodology sections helpful.

Training

Fact Sheets - EDI in Higher Education and Research
Created by the Chaire pour les femmes en sciences et en génie au Québec, Université de Sherbrooke.
EDI in Higher Education and Research: What They Are and Why They are Needed
Reference document created by the Chaire pour les femmes en sciences et en génie au Québec, Université de Sherbrooke.
Addressing EDI in Your Research Setting
Conduct a self-diagnosis and a plan for welcoming and integrating people into your work environment with this resource from the Chaire pour les femmes en sciences et en génie au Québec, Université de Sherbrooke.

Tri-Agency Unconscious Bias Training Module
A 30-minute module that provides strategies to mitigate unconscious biases in decision-making.

Gender-based Analysis Plus (GBA+)
A guide to what GBA+ is and how to apply GBA+ to your work from Women and Gender Equality Canada (WAGE). WAGE also offers a free GBA+ training course.
CIHR Online Training Modules: Integrating Sex & Gender in Health Research
The Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) provides training courses to learn how to distinguish and define sex and gender in health research, identify sex and gender differences within a study, identify methods for integrating sex and gender variables in health research contexts, and assess a research protocol or publication based on the integration or omission of sex and/or gender.

Research Involving First Nations, Inuit and Métis Peoples of Canada Webinar (May 10, 2012)
During this 90-minute webinar, Dr. John M.H. Kelly, Co-Director of the Centre for Indigenous Research, Culture, Language and Education (CIRCLE) at Carleton University, and Laura-Lee Balkwill, Policy Analyst, Secretariat on Responsible Conduct of Research, focus on key issues in TCPS 2 Chapter 9 including community engagement, complex authority structures, capacity building, and research agreements.